AR Optic Choices ?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chr_edw

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Looking for a red dot optic for my AR I recently finished up.

What are some of the pro's/Cons of the different styles like the eotec vs a tube like an aimpoint. This is really intended for 100 yards or less if that helps. I'm completely new to AR's so any help is appreciated.

I'm leaning towards a tube and most likely one of the ones from Vortex or primary arms. I just don't have $ 500 to drop on an aimpoint.

Hump66

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Aimpoint battery life stomps the EOTech. I like the Aimpoint better, I feel the EOTech blocks too much of my field of vision for some reason.

jakerz

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
There really isn't a quality optic out there for a "cheap" price that utilizes the Eotech reticle. However, the Primary Arms and Vortex optics that copy the aimpoint design are great optics. They are not as rugged, or have as long of a battery life, but they'll get the job done. I own a Primary Arms micro, a vortex sparc, and an aimpoint T1. I've also had 3 Eotech's.

chr_edw

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Thats the kind of 1st hand experience I was hoping for jakerz. What are your thoughts on the sparc vs the primary micro ? Do they seem to hold a zero after tossing around?

pak-40

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
The primary arms M3 clone is pretty awesome. I also own one of the PA micro dots. It is what I bought first to see If I like red dots. I own 3 aimpoints now. If you are on a budget, the primary arms scopes cant be beat. The are very rugged, work in the rain, the mud and the snow. Ive dropped them, scraped them on the wall, shot them on 12G, .308, 7.62 X 39, and .223. They hold zero well too! They are not Aimpoints, but they are a GREAT value for the money. You will not be unhappy with them.

langston302

Sharpshooter
Special Hen