Welcome to Oklahoma Shooters Association! Join today, registration is easy!
Discussion in 'Law & Order' started by mhphoto, Mar 16, 2012.
Just curious, assuming the person owns the gun legally and is not a felon.
I think it depends on where you get caught; (Federal building VS grocery store). I remember my CC Class instructor saying it,s about a $70.00 fine to get caught with one the car, but I am not sure about getting caught with one one your person.
Thanks. I know someone whose permit lapsed and they have been putting off renewing it for about a year and a half. They don't think it's a big deal. I'm all for Constitutional carry, but we don't have that, so I see it as a big deal. Just trying to convince them to get their act together and renew.
If that person intends on keeping their permit... then they need to renew soon. After so long he /she will have to retake the CC couse and go through all the original hoops to get another permit.
If I remember right, the penalty for carrying a weapon with a expired CC permit can be significantly more than for someone without a permit carrying one.
It's a misdemeanor. http://www.oscn.net/applications/oscn/DeliverDocument.asp?CiteID=69740
After your permit expires, you have a 30 day grace period where you can still carry.
After your permit expires, you have 3 years to renew without having to start over from scratch.
Misdemeanor or felony...it's still a conviction and goes on your record. A lot of people have the attitude that misdemeanors are nothing to worry about, but they still put a mark against you.
Even though the financial penalty is small, is your friend comfortable with risking a criminal record that will follow him around for a long time?
When I was arrested for violating that law, I got a 6 month deferred sentence and had to pay court costs ($50 or so). When the 6 months were up, the case was dropped and expunged from my record. If you look my record up now, it is clean, and pursuant to Oklahoma law I can truthfully state that no such action ever occurred. In my experience, I would say that almost anyone who didn't have any prior record would get a deferred sentence too on their first conviction. If you have a record already, don't count on it. You might get a suspended sentence, or you might just have to pay some fines. You probably won't go to jail over it unless you have a pretty serious record or if you are on probation.
But technically, according to the law, you could get a maximum punishment of a $100-250 fine and/or up to 30 days in jail for a first violation, and for a second or subsequent violation you would be looking at a fine of $250-500 and/or 30 days-3 months in jail. http://www.oscn.net/applications/oscn/DeliverDocument.asp?CiteID=69744
BTW when I was arrested, it wasn't for carrying a gun... it was for carrying a knife with a spring-activated blade, which also falls under the same statute (but is so lethal that you can't even get a license for it! )
I've often wondered this. I know of a few people who have applied, but not yet received their OSBI permission slip. All but one are carrying every day, but none of them are unlikely to get caught because of their age and lifestyle. (old and boring, lol)
I've heard both.
Separate names with a comma.