Let’s talk Marinades

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Oklahomabassin

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
La Lechonera mojo, you can get it at Supermercado Morelos. Goya's mojo is pretty good as well and easier to find. Marinate your whole hogs, pork butts and whole chickens (or quarters or whatever) in this with beer, orange, lemon, and lime juices for a 2-3 days then smoke or roast.

KHLV00062275-0.jpg

I smoked these for like 14 hours.

FC9eGy3.jpg
I would like to hear more about this. How big are the pigs? What smoker setup? Do you smoke commercially?

bushmaster06

Hoist the black flag.
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I would like to hear more about this. How big are the pigs? What smoker setup? Do you smoke commercially?
They were about 80# each.
Those pigs were about 80# each. Before moving back to Oklahoma I was a banquet sous chef at a 1000-room resort in south Florida. We had 250,000 square feet of indoor event space, plus 2 pool decks next to the beach and the landing at our marina on the intracostal waterway. We would host parties for as many as 1,700 guests.

When I started there they were making brisket in the oven with beef stock and liquid smoke. After I saw that I had a chat with the Food and Beverage director and told him that we could do better so he bought a smoker. Those pigs were smoked at the same time, but it was a pain in the ass getting them in and out. But no, I do not smoke professionally.

Yf0TzFh.jpg

XBb75KU.jpg

xrfUyyO.jpg

TP3aL9h.jpg

lZ2g9Ni.jpg

T0ZWDy4.jpg

IdAjl2z.jpg

tESikMF.jpg

IiGhZsg.jpg

hmoOX94.jpg

Oklahomabassin

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
@bushmaster06 thank you for sharing the details and pictures. I enjoyed it. Certainly a really nice set up and I would call it professional.