S&W Questions: Model 14-3 in 38 S&W Special CTG

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JPK

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I’m new to DA revolvers. I have some questions about a piece I bought a while back – part of an estate sale. First the particulars:

- Model 14-3 in .38 S&W SPECIAL CTG
- SN: 6K9XXXX
- 5 ¾” bbl
- Adjustable rear sight
- Grooved back strap, trigger face and bbl top
- Crosshatched and wide hammer spur
- Wood grips that enclose the frame except for the back strap

It was stored in a box with foam rubber packing material for who knows how long. As a result, there are a few “blemishes” in the blue finish. How would I get rid of the blemishes? Dremel rotary tool and cloth buffer? Polishing compound?

I’ve tried to understand the variety .38 caliber cartridges with respect to the 38 S&W Special CTG. But the variety leaves me stumped. I’ve consulted my hand loading manuals without help there either.

So – what is commercially available ammo that is OK in this revolver? Any .38 Special ammo? What about +Ps?

Anything special or remarkable about this piece?

When is the date of manufacture?

Any help is greatly appreciated in advance.

Attachments

• SpringSummer2010 134.jpg
    SpringSummer2010 134.jpg
    61.9 KB · Views: 565
  • SpringSummer2010 133.jpg
    SpringSummer2010 133.jpg
    62 KB · Views: 592
  • SpringSummer2010 131.jpg
    SpringSummer2010 131.jpg
    62.4 KB · Views: 663
  • SpringSummer2010 132.jpg
    SpringSummer2010 132.jpg
    62.1 KB · Views: 772

Jefpainthorse

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
First ... Lay the dremel down and step away with your hands up

the "standard" 38 special is supposed to be a 158 grain round nosed lead bullet . Most retailer are stocking a mil spec clone 130 grain Fmj. 148 grain wadcutters are a popular target load also