Hunting and Fishing Opportunities Near Lawton

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dinny

Marksman
Special Hen
Reaction score
Hello everyone,
I'm moving soon from IL to Lawton, OK where I will be stationed at Ft Sill. I have been reloading for the last 5 years, hunting for the last 18 years and fishing longer than I can remember. I have already searched the web for hunting and fishing opportunities on Ft Sill, so I kinda have an idea of what's out there, but I was wondering about opportunities off-post in the Lawton area. I have hunted hogs while I was stationed in Germany and thoroughly enjoyed it. I'm bring along my Weatherby .243, Win 70 30-06 and TC Encore in 357 Max, 358 Win and 35 Whelen. Oh yeah, I'm a 35cal fan!!

I became a father about 16 months ago so I'm also interested in places to take the family fishing.

Any and all advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Dinny

bernardderek

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Hey Dinny welcome. I lived in belleville as well when I was stationed at Scott. It was a real bummer that you werent allowed to hunt with rifles in Illinois. I am currently in Korea, but I am headed up to Enid, Ok (Vance AFB) when I get back next July. Oklahoma has loads of hunting and fishing you just have to know where to look. A good place is the DNR website. http://www.wildlifedepartment.com/ It will show you were all of the public places to use and even tell you what wildlife species are located in the area. Hope I was able to help you out a little. ;)

Dinny

Marksman
Special Hen
Reaction score