Bad .22lr Ammo?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rebelracer79

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I just got a .22 in a trade and decided I would try and test it out so I got a target and my old plastic box of mixed .22(bulk federal mixed with bulk remington) I started shooting at about 35 yds, rifle was shooting about 6" high, so I lowered to rear sight all the way and it was still high, I shot 2 tubes of ammo to figure this out, 30 rounds, I had 2 duds, one remy and one fed. , the more I shot the more duds I had, at least one every 15 rounds. I decided to back up to around 80 yds and this ammo was hitting 6" low, yea a foot of drop from 35-80 yds. Most importantly to me the rifle only jammed once in about 150 rnds, Thats perfecly fine with me as I have had .22s in the past that jammed every other shot. but also with this ammo when I was shooting at 80 yds, you could hear the difference in the rounds, some not as loud as others, I was kinda worried about a squib, but I always heard them hit the backstop.

My theory, my big box of .22 is far from airtight, and has been stored in a non climate controlled metal building, probly 2-3 years old, anyone else had the same type of expirence?

Buzzdraw

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
The .22LR does have a good bit of bullet drop. From some data I used for NRA Rimfire Silhouettes, with a 44 yd zero it took 2.25" up for 66 yds, another 2" up for 79 yds and another 6.5" up for rams at 109 yds. The preceding data was for CCI Blue Label (Standard Velocity).

The .22LR cartridge, being lubed the way it is, is very subject to accuracy degradation in high temps. Summer temps, like in a car or worse yet a car trunk, would cause groups to double in size. Cold temps caused no degrading; we often transported our ammo in a small cooler with a cold pack in the hot months.

rebelracer79

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
peanut said: