Hornady Critical Defense

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jhawknokc

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
So I went to H&H today for the first time in a while and decided to shoot my 155 gr. gold dots I've been carrying for the last 8 months while I was target shooting. Problem is, they didn't have the 155's only the 180's when I went to try and buy replacements. I went ahead and got a couple boxes of the critical defense after hearing really good things about them from a lot of friends who carry with them loaded. It kind of seems like a cool idea with having that insert in the tip. Anybody have experience shooting them as far as any failures? Positive aspects and negatives would be appreciated too. Thanks

spd67

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score

This is the exact experience I had with the ammo in my SP101...I'll never buy their ammo again.

Last edited by a moderator:

jhawknokc

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Wow spd, that seems like a major problem. I hope that was just a fluke deal. I haven't gotten to shoot any through my gun yet, I'm just ticked they didn't have my speer 155.

F16mickey

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
You should have stuck with the speer Gold dots regardless of weight.

I have never seen anything good as far as terminal performance from the hornady's.

There is a list of good SD rounds in a sticky at the top of this forum.
Pick a round from the list, buy as much as you can (over 200 rounds bare minimum before you carry them) then concentrate on training and mindset.
http://www.okshooters.com/showthread.php?91784-Dr.-Gary-Roberts-Recommended-Ammo-List

rebelracer79

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
You should have stuck with the speer Gold dots regardless of weight.

I have never seen anything good as far as terminal performance from the hornady's.