Sizing Cast Bullets

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

R. Johnson

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I've been reloading for a couple of years now and decided to start casting. I've got most everything I need to start now, but I don't quite understand this sizing stuff. How do I know which sizing die to purchase? How do I know what size the bullet needs to be? And why doesn't the bullet come out of the mould the correct size?

NikatKimber

Sharpshooter
Staff Member
Special Hen Moderator
Reaction score
In short, different alloys of lead shrink at different rates; therefore the mold cavity must be slightly oversize to ensure that no bullets are too small.

In general (as in, don't quote me on this) the rule of thumb is one thousandths (0.001") larger than the corresponding jacketed bullets. IE, for .38 / .357, the jacketed bullets are .357", and the cast lead bullets are *typically* sized to .358".

There are exceptions to this, and then some guns may shoot better with different size bullets. If you really get into it, then you will learn all that down the road.

Blitzfike

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I've been casting and sizing bullets for almost 40 years, and I'm still learning. Some of the Lee molds I use when using
wheel weights for my lead source cast bullets that slide through the lee sizing dies unchanged. Softer alloys and harder
alloys may both require more effort to size. For rifle bullets, I almost always use a Lyman size and lube press with hard
high speed lube. I have to use a heater with that combination or the lube won't flow in the press. Liquid alox with the
cast bullets rolled in it to give a uniform coating is usually all I need for 9mm hard cast bullets from the Lee mold and die.
All of the magnum handgun cast bullet loads get the high speed lube. We have been shooting 30-30 and 8mm mauser with