ar15 upper issues

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pow

Marksman
Special Hen
Reaction score
I am having two issues putting an upper together, since this is my first build I'm not sure on a couple of things. The first issue is getting the forward assist to run smoothly. When I have a punch stuck through, it operates properly. As soon as the roll pin is about half in, it seems to bind up. I read a spiral roll pin would solve this. Thoughts? Additionally, I am having issues getting the gas block to slide on. I have read you can freeze the barrel and heat the gas block and it *should* slide in to place. This seems kind of permanent to me. Any ideas?

clock152

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
for the forward assist... I find it helps to push it in a bit while driving the pin in (BTW.. I use a pair of Chanel locks with tape on one jaw to keep from marring the receiver to press the pin in instead of driving it.)
What type of gas block are you using? Do you have correct size for your barrel?

NightShade

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score