Chicken help

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Repubiman

Sharpshooter
Reaction score
I've always wanted to have chickens for laying so I was at Atwoods the other day and
bought 6 chicks. 3 are black and 3 are yellow. I asked for help identifying what kind they were and no one could tell me. Had a tub of straight run which they said weren't
sexed and could be male or female and another tub that was supposed to be all female.
So I bought 3 black and 3 yellow but have no idea what kind they are. Anyone wnat to
make an educated guess?

By the way, they are 5 days going since I bought them and all are doing great. Hopefully
I can get a picture up in helping to identify what they are. Buy I thought maybe
Atwoods sell the same kind of chickens every year. I'm a noob at this so I have
absolutly no idea what kind they are or would even venture to make a guess.

Feeding them crumbles, gravel and have a waterer set up and a heat lamp to keep
em warm. Using saw shavings for bedding and all this is in a large plastic tote.
Looks like making a coop is in the near future. Wouldn't mind having a rooster
but with neighbors close by, I don't want to bother them with a noisy bird.

rickm

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
the black ones might be Dominc and the yellow ones (which will turn white later) might be leghorns, from past expereince the straight runs is usually all males with a few females mixed in. But it will be hard to tell now days with places dyeing their chicks for easter they could all come out leghorns when they replace their feathers.

Repubiman

Sharpshooter
Reaction score
Thanks, picked up two more that are road island reds. They are the only two I know what they are. Lol