Heavier bullets = lighter loads?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JPB

Marksman
Special Hen
Reaction score
When someone says to use lighter loads, does this typically translate into a heavier bullet? From what I can tell, it seems that the higher grain bullets tend to have a lower muzzle velocity. I'm no expert on physics, but this would seem to make sense being that a heavier object would require more force to move it forward at the same speed as a lighter object. It's often recommended to practice with lighter loads when needing to reduce recoil, but I was just wondering if lighter really means heavier. Or am I way off base here?

Spiff

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Heavier bullets usually have more felt recoil than lighter bullets, when loaded to 'equivalent' levels. It's a conservation of momentum thing...momentum = mass*velocity, so going up in bullet weight usually has more impact on momentum than going down in velocity.

Light loads mean less velocity, usually.

.45 ACP in a 1911 is kind of weird though...the really competitive guys recommend 230gr rather than lighter bullets for competition loads because they 'feel' lighter.

ssgrock3

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
not sure if I am miss reading the above or what, but in for example a .40, the lighter bullets (135-155gr) have more "snap" or felt recoil than a 180gr round. I find heavier loads are easier to shoot. Now in big bore rifles, the extreme heavy loads will have more felt recoil. Ex: 400+ gr .45-70 will definately have more recoil than a lighter load. Guess it is all relative and depends on how You load the ammo, but this is my experience with factory ammo. I have loaded some 147gr 9mm that would drop at your feet when it extracted.

technetium-99m

Sharpshooter
Reaction score