Optic Recommendations for my Savage Heavy Barrel 308

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Guns N' Cars

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I'm new to the Scope world, but looking for some opinions for a nice scope for My Savage 308

I would like a scope with at least a 600yrd range. I would deal with a 300yrd range if budget wasn't there.

Don't really understand the Magnifications or sizes very well at this point, looking for some direction. Wondering what you guys recommend, use, or just point me in the right direction so I can find out for myself.

Thanks for any help!

abinok

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Almost any modern scope will allow you to shoot your 308 to well past 600yds. If the scope won't you just need a different base that will allow you to use the scope's range of adjustment to its fullest by adding hight to the rear of the base... which translates to having more "up" moa in your scope.

I would highly reccomend you have a look at another forum: http://longrangehunting.com/

This is the definitive site for longrange shooting in the usa... non sanctioned target shooting excluded.

I setup a savage 112BVSS some years ago as a switch barrel platform for various longrange tasks. I have used the same rifle to score hits on prarie dogs, with 4 different calibers at ranges I am unwilling to discuss on this forum.

The critical info needed in selecting a scope for LR use would be:

1. What is it going to be used for?
2. how far do you plan to shoot?
3. How much do you want to spend?

My first suggestions in response to these questions would be:
1. Figure this out... its most improtant....
2. You will want to shoot further eventually than you do now. I know of a fellow that had good succes with 308 at ranges up to 2600yds.