NRA Basic Pistol First Steps Semi-Automatic

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TimWTaylor

Marksman
Special Hen
Reaction score
Tim Taylor is teaching the NRA Basic Pistol First Steps Semi-Automatic
Time: 8:00 AM - Noon
I am a certified NRA instructor.
I am setting up my next Basic Pistol First Steps class for August 22nd, 2009.

Do you have a spouse or child that wants to learn how to shoot a firearm?
Have you ever taken them to the firing range and then got into an argument or a fight. Most times I have seen someone lose their patience with the student or teacher and the entire day is ruined.
I have learned that relatives or couples generally should not attempt to teach each other. With this class, you have a 3rd party doing the teaching. There is no one attempting to impress and no pre-derived assumptions about the instructor. I will focus on teaching, the student can focus on learning.

NRA FIRST Steps Pistol Orientation
(Source: http://www.nrahq.org/education/Training/basictraining.asp)

Firearm Instruction, Responsibility, and Safety Training is the NRA’s response to the American public’s need for a firearm orientation program for new purchasers. NRA FIRST Steps Pistol is designed to provide a hands-on introduction to the safe handling and proper orientation to one specific pistol action type for classes of four or fewer students. This course is at least three hours long and includes classroom and range time learning to shoot a specific pistol action type. Students will learn the NRA’s rules for safe gun handling; the particular pistol model parts and operation; ammunition; shooting fundamentals; cleaning the pistol; and continued opportunities for skill development. Students will receive the Basics of Pistol Shooting handbook, NRA Gun Safety Rules brochure, Winchester/NRA Marksmanship Qualification booklet, and FIRST Steps Course completion certificate.
(Lesson Plan 1995, revised 3/08)