colt revolver question

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AKguy1985

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
i was eyeing a colt official police in a local gun shop, thing is i have no knowledge of colt revolvers, my question is when the hammer isint cocked can you rotate the cylinder by hand? or is that a mechanical problem?

AKguy1985

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I'm going to update this one. The pistol in question is a police positive, the cylinder will rotate counter clockwise when the hammer is down, but not clockwise. the lockup isint very good its got quite a bit of slop in it. What would it take to fix it? Its been sitting at the same gunshop for a couple months for $299. Also how can you tell if a colt is a factory nickel gun?

the colt DS the same shop has, the cylinder doesnt rotate at all in any direction with the hammer down

mr ed

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
This is quite common on police positives.
Especially the police surplus ones from South America.
I've had several that the cyl. stop scallops were cut a little too much.
They lock up fine for firing, but will turn the wrong direction with a little push.
Unlike a S&W in the hammer down -trigger released position the hand is completely back in the frame and cannot stop ccw rotation.
to check tightness on a colt it is done with hammer down -trigger pulled Vs. a S&W just hammer back.

Check like underside of barrel where ejection rod goes for Century arms marks
they reimported a lot of them a few years ago if its a cai one I wouldn't give more than $150 max.

Honeybee

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Sorry Mr Ed this is not common, I repair colts and although a little slop, perhaps 10 thousands of an inch is common, being able to rotate the cylinder without the hammer in half cock is not.