educate me on AK's

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dubs chops

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Guys I am thinking about investing in an AK or two. I will be doing alot of searching on here as well, Just thought you guys may have a few pointers for a new AK guy starting out.

ez bake

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I'm sort of interested in this as well.

I know very little about AK variants other than the tiny bit of knowledge about WASRs and Saigas.

I know that when talking to AK folks about them, I'm quickly lost in who made it, where it came from, which year, which factory, etc...

Would love to have an OSA education on this.

Kid Glock

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I'm not an expert but if looking to buy, I'd ask what you're wanting to spend.
Romy WASR prolly your cheapest AK, followed by Romy SAR's and Romy "G" kit AK's. Chinese post & pre bans are good guns but can be pricey.
I've owned various European AK's, both stamped and milled, Romanian, Hungarian, Bulgarian, Polish, Yugoslav, etc.
IMO, Chinese stamped receivers are pretty good for the money, which can be pricey anymore. MAK 90's (post ban) can still be had for half-azz reasonable amount. I'm not too familiar with US produced models.
Yugo kit guns are availanle and seem to be well built. Although folding stock (under & side) models are ok, I prefer a good fixed stock for shooting.

Snyperc

Sharpshooter
Reaction score
There are various manufacturers to choose from, all differ in quality. Some of the finest I have seen are made by Arsenal. I can provide a link to a website where you find exactly what you are looking for and lots of advice as well. Any decent AK will outlast you with minimum care.
The best place to get face to face info, and see them in action would be the Practical Rifle Match at Oil Capital. If I can be of any asistance, please feel free to ask.
Dave