Question about carry

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

aestus

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I'm not an expert when it comes to gun laws, so I'm asking everyone here. Recently, a new guy was just hired at work. The company has a no gun policy. This new guy states that the rule doesn't apply to him because he's a volunteer sheriff's deputy and he can carry his weapon, even though he's off duty and at work at his "real job."

I just can't see how a volunteer sheriff's deputy who's off duty, at work at his day job can be exempt from company policy.

Bierhunter

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I'm not an attorney, I just play one on the internet. ;)

Just from my past management experience as well as working with employees who were also reserve LEOs, this is my view of how it works based upon past experience.

The reserve/volunteer Deputy can carry in accordance to OK law and his agency's policies.

His non-LEO employer's policies do not override OK law.

However...OKlahoma is an at-will work State. Employment can be terminated for any reason at any time as long as it doesn't violate EEO laws (anyone with more info, please feel free to correct me or add to it).

So, even if he's allowed to carry by law, if he upsets his employer enough, the employer can terminate him for some other reason.

If I was him, I'd keep my mouth shut. Especially being the new guy. Most companies have a probationary period where you can be fired on the spot for anything.

I think he also needs to realize something else. Which job is putting food on his family's table? Being a volunteer officer (which probably doesn't pay anything), or his full time job that actually has a paycheck.

Dont bite the hand that feeds ya.

I work with some PIs and reserve officers. We keep our weaons in our cars out of respect for our employer.