Noob here. Ready to take the leap. Choices: SR9c, Bersa Thunder 9 Pro, Taurus PT911

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fAlGore

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Hello all! I have been lurking here for a while and have enjoyed reading a lot of the discussion on nurmerous topics.

I don't have much of a history with guns. The last time I shot anything other than my son's bb gun is about 20 years ago. However, I am a card carrying member of the vast right wing conspiracy. As such, I feel like I need a gun.

In all seriousness, I read enough stories of attempt abductions, break-ins while people are at home (2 weeks ago, across the street from my house), I'm ready to take the leap.

Here are my gun buying considerations after doing much research:
  • I'm settled on 9mm. When comparing costs, availability and the ability to get the job done, this is the choice for me.
  • I don't either a full size gun or pocket piece either. At least initially, I only plan to purchase one gun. (Maybe a second for my wife, if she decides she wants it).
  • The gun needs to be easy to point, shoot, and be decently accurate.
  • I plan to conceal carry sometimes, but not all the time. My office dress is business casual (shirt tucked in). I'm neither especially big or skinny.

I have narrowed down my choices to 3:
  1. Ruger SR9c - People are raving about this gun on this forum. What I like: Small, light, narrow. People here indicate it is amazingly accurate. What concerns me: (i) DAO. I like the idea of firing a single action gun. However, reviewers I have read love the trigger on this; (ii) longevity.
  2. Bersa Thunder 9 Pro Ultra Compact - Similarly small. It's single/double action. Looks like it's built like a tank. I've seen lots of stellar reviews on this gun as well.