New guy: renting at a range?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ljb2of3

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Hey Guys,

I'm new to firearms, never shot one in my life. However I've recently become interested in handguns, specifically the XD. Before I just run out and buy something I'd like to actually try shooting one.

I've spent the last month reading and watching everything I can online about the XD itself, gun safety rules, grip, stance, trigger pull, etc... I feel pretty confident that I could pick up one of these guns and safely put a few rounds downrange without any problems.

It seems normally new people go to the range with a buddy that already shoots, but none of my nearby family or friends own guns. Can I just drive up to Medlocks later today and rent a gun and try it out myself, or should I go actually take a handgun class first?

Thanks,
Landy

Danny

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Might be able to meet you for a trip to Happy Hollow and you can shoot my Kimber (1911). You provide the ammo, I'll clean it after. You'll forget all about that XD.

tomthebaker

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
You'd be fine going to Medlocks. Just tell them your situation, and they would be happy to get you shooting safely.

They are good, friendly people, and they are in business just for people like you.

mikey176293

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
welcome to the world of shooting and welcome to the forum! as far as a rent place id suggest medlocks over tulsa firearms personally for friendliness. The xd is a great gun; not my choice over glocks or m&p, but a great gun. And your on the right track my learning the safety rules first

Biggsly

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score