22 Cans

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

maxim240sx

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
Ok so I'm ready to start the process for my 1st can. I'm looking for a 22lr can for my multiple hosts. I have a subscription to silencer reviews and see the dB rating for all the different cans, but the list is also from 2009. I know you can get the Tac65 for around $200 and the spectre, sparrow, and prodigy for about double the price $400-425. My question is for the increase in price, is it worth it to save >5dB?

338Shooter

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
6dB is double the sound pressure. You can get a $200 can and you may very well be happy, but if you want something that will last forever, get a take apart SS can like the Sparrow SS. It is an awesome can that will handle pretty much anything you can throw at it rimfire wise. I've sold more sparrows than any of the other .22 cans combined. They just plain rock. No one I know has ever brought their Sparrow home and wished they'd bought a tac-65, but I have heard people lament the other direction.

I enjoy my demo Sparrow the most on my .17HMR bolt gun. Can't do that with a cheap aluminum can.

Honeybee

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
5db is not very loud by itself but 5db added to a loud noise is a noticeable difference.

If money is an issue for you then silencers may not be the venue you need to tread, remember that you are going to take a $200 hit on the stamp when you sell or trade it off because that is not recoverable in any way, nor can you reuse it on your next one.

Glocktogo

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score