6.8 SPC II in an AR 15 vs .308 in an AR 10

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

O4L

Sharpshooter
Staff Member
Special Hen Moderator Moderator
Reaction score
Looking in the classifieds today I see one of each, near me, and priced close to the same.

I have zero experience with the AR 10 platform but for ammo costs it seems that the .308 may be the right choice. I'm not planning on reloading either cartridge but I probably wouldn't be shooting hundreds of rounds per year through either one so that may not matter so much.

I was asked just last week if I had any interest in owning an AR 10 and I said no because of the added weight and ammo cost over the AR 15 in .233/5.56 but seeing these ads has me thinking.

I did a bit of research a few years ago for an AR 15 rifle for hunting and decided on the 6.8 but lost access to the hunting area about that time so I didn't start building it.

So if a guy was inclined to add one or the other to his lineup of .223/5.56 AR 15s, for deer, hog, sasquatch, and maybe a little distance shooting, what would you recommend?

Advantages and disadvantages of each one?

Thanks

diggler1833

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I own both. Killed a lot of hogs with both.

If you aren't going to roll your own... .308 all day. Factory ammo costs are similar, but the performance edge goes to the .308 by a lot.. if you do roll your own, the .308 with a 30 cent Hornady Interlock is more effective than the 6.8 with an 80 cent TSX or $1 exotic bullet.

Neither is a ballistic standout regarding target shooting at distance...but the .308 wins in that category too.

The 6.8 will be about 1-1.5 lbs lighter in comparable platforms. 6.8 will also recoil less in similarly setup rifles. My 6.8 is definitely more handy than my .308s.

.308 for magazine and component availability too.