A Rant About Ford Motor Company

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TerryMiller

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
The auto industry is just like Microsoft,(they probably learned it from them) they make a product with flaws, they KNOW it is flawed but they dump it on the public anyway and let all the worlds "tec people" sort out the discrepancies for them, hence, they don't have to do it themselves, saves time and money and the after-market companies make money, company saves money and the consumer PAYS for it........It's the capitalist way. The drawback to this is the "people that sort it all out" have to CONSTANTLY get up-dates in the changing tech........and the stress that comes with it has a high rate of BURN-OUT.

That reminds me of an incident back in the '70's. I was an 18-wheeler driver then and was acquainted with a number of other guys that were hauling Anhydrous Ammonia out of a plant in Dodge City, KS. One of those guys bought a new truck that had the Cat engine that had recently came out. For a number of weeks, he complained about how that engine was "one dog of an engine" and couldn't pull itself worth a darn.

Then he came into the truck stop one day and had the biggest grin on his face. He told us that he had stopped somewhere for lunch and when he got back into the truck to head out again, that engine was running like a cat with turpentine on its tail.

Apparently, the Cat engines improved greatly after they got "broke in."

He never complained about that engine again.

garytx

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score