Advice on 1911 carry

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

daytomann

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Hello all. I am a new 1911 owner. I love the pistol at the range and I'm now a hooked 1911 fan. I will have more. :)

Mine is a 4" barrel and it carrys nicely. Not only am I new to 1911's but I am new to carrying as I just recently received my license. My question is this:
For those of you who carry 1911.... how do you carry it? Is is cocked and locked or uncocked but chambered, or unchanmbered?

I know it has some redundant saftey features (which I appreciate) but for some reason I'm still a little apprehensive about carrying it cocked, chambered with safety on.

Sorry if this seems like a really NEWB question but I'd like to get opinions.

Thank you!

Last edited:

cmhbob

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Cocked and locked. That's the way it was designed to be carried.

Learn the function check:

1. DROP THE MAGAZINE AND EMPTY THE CHAMBER.
  2. VERIFY IT'S EMPTY.
  3. Safety on, without pressing the grip safety and with the hammer back, pull the trigger. Hammer should not drop.
  4. Safety off, without pressing the grip safety and with the hammer back, pull the trigger. Hammer should not drop.
  5. Safety on, pressing the grip safety and with the hammer back, pull the trigger. Hammer should not drop.
  6. Safety off, pressing the grip safety and with the hammer back, pull the trigger. Hammer should drop.

I carry this way in either a Milt Sparks Watch 6, or a SmartCarry. The latter idea unnerves my pastor a bit. ;)

daytomann

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Thanks Bob, I'll go through that.
Yeh, I know that was how it was designed to carry I think its just gonna take me some time to learn to trust it and see how many others do. :)

Thanks again!

cmhbob

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score