1. Welcome to Oklahoma Shooters Association! Join today, registration is easy!

    You can register using your Google, Facebook, or Twitter account, just click here.

Another Heat and air question

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by twocan, Dec 8, 2018 at 2:44 PM.

  1. twocan

    twocan Sharpshooter

    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    Perry
    Does a heater have a burn time relay of some sort?
    We recently had complete central heat and air installation in an old house and I'm starting to have an issue with the heater. The problem is when it doesn't keep up the heat source goes out after a period of time. It will not come back on until I manually turn the heat switch off and then back on. Another issue with this is the blower never stops and after a few minutes is starts blowing cold air due to no fire. The thermostat still says the heat is on when it's not. The blower does stop when I shut it off and back on.
    Yes I have call in to my ac guy.... I just won't be able to sleep at night think about this.
     
    emapples likes this.
  2. twocan

    twocan Sharpshooter

    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    Perry
    I'll add the reasons that this has happened .... I had the window open today and attic fan on due to the wife painting in the house and it couldn't keep up. Another reason is we all have a habit of sleeping with doors shut at night and I haven't added the air passes yet in the doors.
     
  3. John6185

    John6185 Sharpshooter

    Messages:
    2,524
    Likes Received:
    1,053
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    If I remember, the high limit switch can make the unit run all the time if it's stuck. I am probably wrong but that's my guess. Used to be a $25 dollar part.
     
  4. tyromeo55

    tyromeo55 Sharpshooter

    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    60
    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Location:
    Tulsa
    Rating
    100%
    Does the circuit board show a code on an led (you have to count the blinks and look up the code)?

    It could be a high limit. Are the filters horrible? All the vents open and flowing?


    To me it sounds like a flame sensor. Usually you can sand them off a little bit with emery cloth and get back in business
     
  5. John6185

    John6185 Sharpshooter

    Messages:
    2,524
    Likes Received:
    1,053
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    You know, threads like this are a big help to others when they are without heat-Keep them comments coming!
     
    dennishoddy likes this.
  6. twocan

    twocan Sharpshooter

    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    Perry
    The heat light is on even though it's not heating. Filters are new
     
  7. tyromeo55

    tyromeo55 Sharpshooter

    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    60
    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Location:
    Tulsa
    Rating
    100%
    I think the "heat light". that you are referring to is on the thermostat. That is not what I was talking about.

    Assuming the unit is not a dinosaur there is a circuit board inside the unit. Next time the unit cuts the flame and you would normally reset it to get going again. Open it up and try to take a peek at the LED (There might even be a sight glass on the door that you can use in lieu of opening the door) and count the blinks. On the inside or outside there should be instructions that tell what the blinks mean.

    My vote is still a flame sensor. If your handy.... remove the flame sensor, sand and replace it.
     
    Oklahomabassin and dennishoddy like this.

Share This Page