AR Upgrades

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Droff

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I have an AR but not submersed in all things AR. I know there a lot of folks on here that either build or modify theirs quite a bit. I don't shoot 3-gun or compete in any way, just take it to the range for shooting and plan to use it for home defense if there ever is a need for it. I may have put 500 or so rounds through this over several years but I do want to shoot on a more regular basis though.

With that said, I'd like some recommendations for a few things - as there is A TON of parts online, it's hard for me to determine 'decent for the price' because I have no experience to bump that up against. Think budget friendly for this but also want some quality to go with that.

I want to remove the A2 front sight since I have a red dot I want to run on it, so I'm thinking I need the following;

- Free floating handguard (I've got a 16" barrel) so any length and brand suggestions?
- Gas block, no idea on brand.
- Co-witness sights, flip up, I don't have a set picked out.
- While not needed, I do want to add a compensator/muzzle brake and thought maybe Troy Industries Claymore 5.56 Muzzle Brake would be decent.. or a VG6?
Any other suggestions appreciated.

While I'm not helpless, I don't have the required tools to do this so I'll be looking for someone that's capable and willing, with a cost or without.
Willing to hold the dummy end of the tape if needed.

Thanks.

jackary

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
how deep down the rabbit hole do you want to go? Check out some of the AR picture threads and figure out what style you like as far as type of rail. I prefer Mlok or quad rail.