At the tender age of 68 years old,,,

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

aarondhgraham

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
At the tender age of 68 years old,,,
I finally got summoned for Jury Duty.

I've never done this before so I have no idea what's in store for me.

Without my hearing aids I can barely hear a face to face conversation,,,
With these very expensive, top of the line, amplifiers,,,
I can hear general noises and sounds well enough.

But if someone is wearing a mask I can't make out the individual words.

I tell ye my friends,,,
If I were on trial for something heavy (or light),,,
I would want the jurors to hear clearly every word my defense atty spoke.

Whattaya think?

Aarond

Aries

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I don't have any special knowledge, other than my experience of being called for jury duty a couple of times.

I expect you're going to have to report. Your summons should have contact info to call and talk to a court clerk and explain, I'd be a little surprised if they dismiss you immediately for that, but if they have a large enough jury pool available, they might.

If it comes to being queried for a specific trial, at that point it's really up to the judge. They hear a TON of excuses, and the ones I've seen don't immediately just accept whatever someone says... in other words, they try to determine if it's a legitimate excuse or if there's some way to work around it. Some judges are pretty strict, and again it may depend on the size of the potential jury pool.