Brass vs. Nickel Cases

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cdschoonie

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I’ve collected several nickel cases here and there, some have come from once-fired I’ve bought, some from range pick ups, both straight wall and necked cases. I’m new to reloading (a little over 2 years now), I’ve been a little apprehensive to use nickel, since I’ve always heard and read that nickel cases are harder, and can be used less times, compared to brass, due to the harder metal. I’d like to use them if I can, what with the rarity and higher prices of brass currently.

Now I know the number of times cases can be reloaded depends on several factors, obvious cracks, etc., but is there a ‘rule of thumb’ as to how many times nickel cases to be used, compared to brass? Are there signs that differ from brass, as to when a case has been used up?

Aries

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I agree with swampratt... they are more brittle, and while I don't know the ratio they won't reload as many times as plain brass. But it doesn't hurt anything to use them, the nickel plating ONLY affects the brass case so a few uses is better than no uses. Use them until you see cracks in the mouth, or other signs that it's time to replace them, just like brass cases.

cdschoonie

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
As to the nickel I have in necked cases, can I, or rather should I anneal them like the brass ones? I’m thinking I need to anneal every 3rd reload.

Of course I’m going by what I’ve learned, not by experience with it.

Aries

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score