Career change… IT?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HoLeChit

Here for Frens
Special Hen
Reaction score
So I’m in a bad spot. After 15 years of working as a heavy equipment mechanic, I lost my job at the start of Covid. Frustrated with the industry, and the west and tear it was putting my body through, I took it as my opportunity to change careers. I found out I qualify for the VA’s Vocational rehab program, and started making strides towards becoming a residential home inspector. Two years later, I’m still not starting working, and the VA is dragging their feet. I’m certified, broke, and waiting on the VA to order the tools I need to get started. I’ve been in this spot for over a year now, with no progress. I’ve talked with my case worker, the regional director of voc rehab, and even my congressman, and nothing is happening. I just keep getting told “any day now”. Not working is not only putting a strain on me financially, but it’s also taxing mentally and putting a strain on my relationship. I’m tired of waiting. So I’m taking matters into my own hands.

I think I’m gonna try and get into the Tech sector, specifically IT and cybersecurity. I could use some pointers and advice from you guys who do this stuff or have experience in the field. I have a buddy who is a cybersecurity administrator, and says I should go for it. It seems to be rapidly growing and offers lots of good jobs as well as good pay. I’m open to any advice you guys have.

Catt57

Gill-Gun Guru
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
IT is like most industries, What you know matters, who you know sometimes matters more. As for training i can't help much. I've been doing IT for so long that I got in before classes for IT were even a thing. I'm riding on my experience at this point.

I wish you the best of luck.

garytx

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score