1. Welcome to Oklahoma Shooters Association! Join today, registration is easy!

    You can register using your Google, Facebook, or Twitter account, just click here.
  2. All members receive 3 free listings a month. Get unlimited listings for just $10 a year! Click here for all the info.

Chronograph reducing errors

Discussion in 'Ammo & Reloading' started by swampratt, Jan 23, 2020.

  1. swampratt

    swampratt Sharpshooter

    Messages:
    6,699
    Likes Received:
    2,328
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Location:
    yukon ok
    Rating
    100%
    So I have an F1 Chrony and many times it will give an error.
    When I first got it I had it set too close to the muzzle on a tripod.
    I shot my 30-06 through the window and it rocked the thing back and almost fell over.
    OK move it back. I now have it usually at 20 feet but have set it at 100 yards.

    Too close and I have got odd readings like 3500fps from 168 gr .308.. yea that can't be correct.
    Less errors farther out.

    Other times it was partly cloudy or the sun was at the wrong angle.
    I would get ERROR on the screen on a few shots
    I removed the sun shades from above the chrony.
    And just shoot between the sticks.
    No more errors.
    There was one guy that took a piece of plywood about 2 foot by 2 foot and painted it white.
    Mounted the chrony upside down above the white plywood placing the plywood on the ground.
    No more errors.

    If your F1 is finicky or other chrony you may want to try some of the above.
     
  2. slas

    slas Sharpshooter

    Messages:
    824
    Likes Received:
    431
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Location:
    OKC
    Rating
    100%
    I have the same chrony and will get an error every once in a while but rarely any more. I made sun shades for the first one I bought since I got it used and the guy had lost them. Worked well but I went ahead and got another new one anyway. Then I shot it through the metal on the back end, bought another one. Decided to send in the shot one and they fixed it for about $25. Now I have three.....so if you need an extra......
     
    DRC458 and swampratt like this.
  3. swampratt

    swampratt Sharpshooter

    Messages:
    6,699
    Likes Received:
    2,328
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Location:
    yukon ok
    Rating
    100%
    1 is plenty Thanks.
    I have shot the steel wind screen rod.. just barely nicked it with .308.
    At close range I have recorded shotgun velocity and it seems spot on.
    Arrows read well also.

    They say there are 2 kinds of people that own a shooting chronograph.
    Those who have shot the chronograph.
    And those that are going to shoot the chronograph.
     
    Cowcatcher, DRC458 and chazroh like this.
  4. chazroh

    chazroh Sharpshooter

    Supporter
    Messages:
    3,087
    Likes Received:
    1,304
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Location:
    Bixby
    Rating
    100%
    They say there are 2 kinds of people that own a shooting chronograph.
    Those who have shot the chronograph.
    And those that are going to shoot the chronograph.[/QUOTE]

    Got to buy my buddy a new chrono this way! Got that t-shirt!!
     
    swampratt and Cowcatcher like this.
  5. Jcann

    Jcann Sharpshooter

    Messages:
    843
    Likes Received:
    577
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2014
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    Rating
    100%
    I shot two of the metal rods on the right side of mine. It was because of that, the time it took to set up, and the number of errors I decided to get a Magnetospeed. A shooting partner of mine just ordered a Lab Radar. I’m interested to see how it works.
     
    chazroh likes this.
  6. swampratt

    swampratt Sharpshooter

    Messages:
    6,699
    Likes Received:
    2,328
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Location:
    yukon ok
    Rating
    100%
    Last time I shot to record velocity I did not use the rods or the sun shades. just shot over the top down the middle and instant readout.
     
  7. Glocktogo

    Glocktogo Sharpshooter

    Messages:
    25,362
    Likes Received:
    5,349
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Location:
    Collinsville
    Rating
    100%
    I think I've had 4 Chronos. Two Shooting Chronys, one CED and now a Pro Chronograph. I've never actually shot a chrono with a bullet, but I did ruin one with the plastic sabot off a muzzleloader bullet! LOL

    In most cases, I just set the chrono on a range bench or barrel and shoot over it. I don't put the rods or screens on unless I get errors.
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2020
    swampratt likes this.
  8. chazroh

    chazroh Sharpshooter

    Supporter
    Messages:
    3,087
    Likes Received:
    1,304
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Location:
    Bixby
    Rating
    100%
    The one I shot was on a bench and I was freehand shooting over it, I put a bullet trail down the top of it. Just didn’t feel right about giving it back to him that way!! Now I have a magnetospeed
     
  9. RedHawk357Mag

    RedHawk357Mag Sharpshooter

    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    60
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Location:
    Duncan OK
    Rating
    100%
    I use a pro chronograph. It seems to do fine. I replaced the metal sunscreen struts with wooden dowel rods. If you tag a metal strut it will normally wreck a chronograph just like a round in the snot locker. In WAG rounds, for example 105 SWC or 200 grn RNFPs when your normal load is 158 grn, make a few extra rounds for confirming bullet impact differences before sending rounds through the screens.

    Sent from my SM-T387V using Tapatalk
     
    swampratt likes this.
  10. Shadowrider

    Shadowrider Sharpshooter

    Messages:
    18,248
    Likes Received:
    3,716
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Tornado Alley
    Rating
    100%
    I've been known to keep binder clamps with my Prochrono and clamp the white side of a USPSA target facing down. It helps a lot on sunny days in summer. If it's cloudy you don't need screens at all.
     
    swampratt likes this.

Share This Page