Danged nickel cases

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dennishoddy

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
Started the process of loading around 200 .243 WSSM cases yesterday. All are Winchester premium nickel cases.
Just finished resizing about 400 .223 in brass cases last week. The RCBS trimmer worked fine and had a nice pile of shavings under the cutter.
This is my first time trimming nickel bottle neck cases. I've had and reloaded/shot them several times in the past as they didn't exceed the maximum case length of 1.670. Of the 200 that were polished, about 40 were over max length by a couple thousands of an inch.
Once the electric/pneumatic trimmer was set up, got started and either the cutter got dull doing the .223, or the nickel cases are really tough. No cutting was going on. Had to put pressure on the motor head to "burnish" the case to length with a huge roll around the mouth of the case.
Don't know if they are too tough for a high speed steel cutter or what, so ordered a carbide cutter today.

51DEUl1UMCL._AC_US218_.jpg

Anybody experience the same with nickel cases?

swampratt

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I must trim all my 357 magnum cases and I have trimmed 100's of nickle cases and my cutters do not dull any more than brass cases.
Sounds like a dull cutter.

Here is something else on trimming rifle cases.
When I was shooting my .308 to test brass to fail point i found at what length the .308 brass got into the neck and it was .030" past what the trim length was stated as being..so there was a very large safety window.
I do not sweat a few thousandths unless I am shooting for max accuracy and even then I found trim length was the least of my worries case mouth chamfer was more important.

You could even try chamfering the case mouth before trimming to add less stress to the cutter

magna19

Sharpshooter
Special Hen