Equipment Question/Opinions Sought

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chaparral

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
Reworking my reloading bench and looking for opinions.

Bench is 86” wide and 30” deep.

I have a Lee loadmaster I would very much like to keep setup. May try and get a slide in base for it.

Have a MEC which would be nice to be able to setup.

Issue, I have come into a second single stage press. One is an ancient Lyman, this one is a Hornady Classic with most of the parts for the primer installation.

sooooooo

What are the thoughts on setup and what units? None of the bases are the same dimensions. Should I try and have both single stages set up? Is it too much?

okierider

Sharpshooter
Staff Member
Supporting Member
Special Hen Moderator Moderator Supporter
Reaction score
At one point I had a single stages set up. It was mounted to a piece of 2x12 that when in use was clamped to my bench do to space issues.
Worked great.

Rustygun

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
Your bench is huge compared to mine. I have a Dillon 550 and a Dillon 650 setup with threaded inserts in the bench top. i use home made wooden wing nuts so if needed either one can be removed and reattached to the lower shelf without tools. I think my bench is 24” x 36” But it is dedicated to just reloading. I have another bench where guns get worked on or cleaned. The 550 is only on the bench top when I load 38/357 or 45 acp. All the high volume stuff is done on the 650 with the case feeder and it stays setup all the time. It seems like I use the front 12-16” to reload and the back foot or so just collects stuff. I put French cleats on the walls so anything can be moved to where it is the most needed or out of the way.

8EEAB5E3-89DC-40B8-88EF-736AE8FC6AE7.jpeg

rickm

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score