Fed. Court Judge denies injunction in "bump-stock" case

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Poke78

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
https://townhall.com/tipsheet/bethb...ump-stock-ban-heres-what-you-need-to-n2542207

"Back in December, the Department of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF) finalized a new regulation that changed definition of “machinegun” to include “bump-stock-type devices." Beginning March 26, owning or possessing a bump stock will be illegal."

"On Monday night, a federal court judge denied three separate preliminary injunction requests. The decision was a consolidated ruling in two cases, Firearms Policy Coalition v. Whitaker and Guedes v. Bureau of Alcohol Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives."

Keep breathing...only the first round...More at the link above...

Tanis143

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I'm no lawyer, but this doesn't seem correct. I thought that when a law is drafted, if there are no alternating definitions then the common definition for a word is used. If the definitions need updating, then only the legislative branch has the authority to change the law to include the definitions. In this case the judge basically said the ATF can change the definitions any time they choose to do so. How is that possible?

Fyrtwuck

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I think they tried to pull a fast one. “As a single function of the trigger” if that wording were allowed, I think they could also interpret that to include binary triggers as well.

A binary trigger fires one round when pulled and another when released = A single function.

I could be wrong.

Tanis143

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score