Harvesting Duck ...

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Annie

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I'd like to leave the skin on these ducks when I get ready to harvest them. I haven't butchered duck since I was a kid and I remember my dad waxing the ones we brought home from the hunt but us kids weren't allowed to do that part of the butchering.

So ... YouTube is great but you guys know how it goes -- there is always something important that seems to get missed -- any advice before I get started. I've got 3 Pekins that need to meet their maker here in the next week or so.

Thanks, guys.

Okie4570

Sharpshooter
Staff Member
Special Hen Moderator Moderator
Reaction score
There's several rubber "fingered" gadgets out there to help with feather removal as well. Read the reviews though, I've got no personal experience with them.

Annie

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Ok, thanks guys. I gotta cut a tree down next weekend but weekend after that I got at least 3, maybe 4 that are headed to the freezer so I guess I'll just get to plucking the old fashioned way. I can't see buying one of those new-fangled fingered thingamabobbers just to pluck a duck. :anyone: Course I may change my tune after I've plucked a few. I HATE plucking chickens. I'd rather just skin the bastages. So I'll try plucking and then waxing the pin feathers off these duck and see how it goes. I'll let ya know.

dennishoddy

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
We just dipped them in boiling water and wiped the feathers off. There are some rubber gloves out there with little nubbins on them that assist in that effort. Ace hardware should have them.
140-150 degrees with some dawn dish soap to break down the duck oil in the feathers for better penetration of the hot water.

MacFromOK

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
We just dipped them in boiling water and wiped the feathers off.