I did it, I am officially into predatory hunting

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dorkus

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
After seeing a lot of coyotes while deer hunting (my brother saw 11 one day), I figured I need to thin out the yotes on my place. That is probably where all the turkeys have gone. I have no idea how to hunt them but just ordered a LuckDuck e-call out of Rogers. I self taught myself to turkey hunt so figure I could do the same with coyotes.

Is this a you have to be there at butt crack early deal or can you hunt them anytime during the day? How far should I expect them to get for shots? Is a .270 too big of a caliber? I was wanting to get them after duck season, is Feb a good month to go? If not, when is best?

Tell me what I need to know. I have not idea what I am doing so any advice would be great.

CanadianRiverRat

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
Kill all of them you can get a sight pic on.....short of hunting them with megaton thermonuclear devices, you'll NEVER eradicate the bastages! They survived set-guns, poison bait, Gov. trappers and paid bounty at the courthouse as well as shooting from horseback and helo.
Quick tip, roadkill deer carcasses are fine bait piles to shoot 'yotes over.

retrieverman

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
After seeing a lot of coyotes while deer hunting (my brother saw 11 one day), I figured I need to thin out the yotes on my place. That is probably where all the turkeys have gone. I have no idea how to hunt them but just ordered a LuckDuck e-call out of Rogers. I self taught myself to turkey hunt so figure I could do the same with coyotes.