I have 2 electrical questions

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

okietool

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
#1 In my gd's garage there is a receptacle that's the ground fault type.
When it trips it takes everything on that circuit with it.
It doesn't trip the breaker, but nothing else on that circuit seems to work.
I don't think that's normal is it?

#2 There is no water withing at least 15' of the ground fault receptacle, why would a ground fault receptacle be necessary? Or even desirable?

Aries

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I'm not an electrician so I can't try to explain why, but it sounds normal. The one in one of our bathrooms tripped the other day, and took power to all the receptacles in the adjacent bedroom out until I reset it, so apparently they are on the same circuit.

Hard to say why there is one there without seeing it or knowing the history of the house... was there maybe a washer/dryer there at one time? How far above the floor is it? Is it on an outside or inside wall?

okietool

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I'm not an electrician so I can't try to explain why, but it sounds normal. The one in one of our bathrooms tripped the other day, and took power to all the receptacles in the adjacent bedroom out until I reset it, so apparently they are on the same circuit.

Hard to say why there is one there without seeing it or knowing the history of the house... was there maybe a washer/dryer there at one time? How far above the floor is it? Is it on an outside or inside wall?
I don't think there was a washer/dryer there, there's no plumbing. It's about 4' above the floor. It is on the inside of an outside garage wall.

Aries

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score