Input as to why this wouldn't work.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kenney Minter

New to the site!
Reaction score
This is my 1st time posting, so excuse me if this is a stupid question. I have been working on what I would consider the perfect AR15 for shtf situation for a couple years now. Im waiting on an inconel gas tube to replace the stainless one. But I always feel like the set screw style gas block is a major weak point. I could pin it, but I'm not crazy about the idea of taking metal away from my barrel. So here's my thoughts and question. Could I wrap wet rags around the gas block once it's aligned correctly, then tig weld a very small spot from the gas block to the set screw, I mean just lightly feather it in, while using an allen wrench to make sure it stays torqued while im doing it? I weld for a living and couldn't see this causing any warpage. Only issue I'd see is getting the block off later. But if the weld was small like I plan I could just use a small air sander to sand the tig weld down enough to break the set screw free. Any one think thats a horrible ideal and why?

tRidiot

Perpetually dissatisfied
Special Hen
Reaction score
I don't see it being a problem. However, I think you're looking for a problem that isn't one, honestly. You could dimple your barrel for the set screws, but I can't say I've ever heard of a gas block coming loose. I think there are lots of other issues you'd run into much more commonly than that.

As far as gas blocks, you've got pinned, set screw and clamp on. I think the set screw is the perfect compromise between stability and ease of application/replacement.

Kenney Minter

New to the site!
Reaction score
Pin the damn barrel