L.L. Bean hunting boots and other quality footwear

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Poke78

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I went to looking some time back for good hiking shoes for when we were exploring out west. I was advised to look into Keen and Merrell footwear. I've since purchased a pair of Merrell walking shoes that I like for everyday wear and hiking. I also have a pair of Keen sandals that are really comfortable as well, although I mostly wear them in the summer and when we are doing our Summer work gig.

Link to Merrell Website

Link to Keen Website
I've been wearing the same style of Keen hiking shoes for over 10 years. They work great with my special insoles, the tread area is very durable, and I haven't worn out an upper yet. The inner liner begins showing its age before anything else but I still use my very first pair as my walk-around-the-house shoe. I bought this style the first time on the recommendation of Backpacker magazine in their annual gear edition.

I have a pair of Merrell hiking boots that have been very serviceable since I purchased them at a CO resort years ago. They've retained their waterproof qualities, the sole/tread shows little wear but the upper is showing its age, especially around the toe-cap area. I'll probably buy a pair of Keen boots to replace the Merrell.

ttown

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I have both the keen and Merrill hiking boot (Mid-height) Love the wide toe box on the keen although I wear a D width.

The Merrill’s are nice but my left pinky toe gets sore on day hikes, theres some break in required that was skipped with the keens.

Shadowrider

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score