Must be a government job

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Personofinterest

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
34CD8800-7BE3-4CB8-BA7E-D5C6285C78CC.gif

Dave70968

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Many moons ago, I drove up to Dayton to visit my folks for the holidays. When I finally got to their house, I made the comment to dad that "y'know, I've been driving the I-70/I-75 interchange for better than ten years now--." He interrupted to say "Don't tell me you got lost." I said "nope, just realizing that I've never seen it not under construction." Upon a bit of reflection, he had to agree with me.

Mos Eisley

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
When I was stationed at Incirlik, AB Turkey it was completely normal to see 7 or 8 Turks standing around watching one guy dig a hole or hammer a board. Good ole US of A government money.

New York state wasn't much different. Due to their union rules there had to be X number of guys on a site, even though it was a one man job.

okie362

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
Union jobs are great aren't they?

I've never been in a union but have had a few grievances filed against me by the Autoworkers unions in MI. FUnny part is that when the grievances were filed I was in TX. I made my (Non-union) techs go make repairs to our communication and computer gear without assistance from the local supervisors and safety monitors. Once I had them carry a replacement part from the loading dock to the computer room to replace a faulty hard drive. Had to pay a $3000 grievance for taking work away from a dock worker. It was 0200 and they weren't onsite so I was supposed to call and wait 4 hours for them to arrive and carry the box. They would have billed me overtime and stat the clock from the time I made the call until the dock worker returned home.

Not sure why we lose jobs to offshore and undocumented workers.

Mos Eisley