Need Advice

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Eagle Eye

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I am new to the SE and am going pretty blind into alot of places. Today I went to a spot i saw a good rub a few weeks ago. It's public land. It's in a saddle where it is open and nice grass. Timber pine to the east, steep drop to a creek on the west. North and south are about 50-100 feet higher in elevation than the grassy patch.

At 9 this morning I saw a nice buck walk through there. He approached from the east. He was about 50 yards out, which is out of bow range for me. He stopped once of twice in the grassy areas but never fed or settled down. He moved west and hopped down to the creek area.

I was set up for south wind. But tomorrow the wind should reverse and come from the North. (supposedly).There are good trees on the other side of the saddle, so i could play the wind right. Should i go tomorrow again? I probably wont be out again for at least a week. I dont want to pressure him too much though.

Go or no go?

Coach_1

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Go! Public land deer don’t spook to scent nearly as easy as a private land deer in my experience. I hunt primarily public land and feel like the deer are almost used to human scent because there’s people out there all the time. Plus, Snowcamo is right. If you aren’t hunting him then someone else is. Chances are you’re not the only person who’s seen him.

Eagle Eye

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I didn't see squat while in the stand. But based on the shooting patterns i was hearing, no one was seeing any till about 11.