Odd issue with powder drops

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Perplexed

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I'm just starting out with reloading both cartridges and shotgun shells, and for the latter, I acquired a used Mec 9000 progressive loader. The other day I got it cleaned up, oiled and greased properly, adjusted according to the manual, and set up on my bench. I looked up load recipes for cowboy action shooting, and found one for 12 gauge that called for a maximum of 19.7 grains of Hodgdon Clays with 7/8 oz shot. I decided to download the powder charge by 15%, which was approximately 16.7 grains, and checked the Mec bushing chart for the appropriate sized bushing. That was No. 30, so I installed that in the charge bar, loaded the bottles with powder on left and shot on right, and tried a few powder drops to weigh them. I weighed an empty hull before the drop, and again afterward, to get the approximate weight of the powder.

I was mystified to find that ten powder drops resulted in an average weight of 17.3 grains with a range of 17.2 to 17.4 grains, not at all what I was aiming for. Scratching my head, I checked the bushing chart again, and realized that the actual weights were what was listed for the next up bushing, No. 31. So I swapped out the No. 30 bushing for the No. 29 bushing, and weighed another five powder drops.

They were all the same, 16.7 grains - what the chart said the next larger bushing should drop.

Has anyone run into this before?? I figure if it's consistent, I'll go with the No. 29 bushing despite what the Mec chart says, and just weigh every fifth or tenth drop "to make sure."

ETA: yes, I double-checked to make sure the correct bushing was installed the first time!

Last edited:

rickm

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score