Oklahoma Concealed carry???

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jvarela

New to the site!
Reaction score
Hey guys,
I'm new to oklahoma so don't know how the law works. I have been trying to see if I am able to carry my gun concealed WITHOUT a permit? I have looked it up multiple times and get different answers of yes and no. I will be getting my permit to carry just want to know if I can do so now until I get around to it. I know I can open carry just not interested, thanks.

okietom

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Oklahoma is a permitless carry state. I don’t know how long you have to be here to be considered a resident. I don’t know if that matters. You can still get an Oklahoma Carry Permit if you want to. That really is only if you want other states to honor an Oklahoma permit. We can carry open or concealed without a permit. I plan on renewing my permit.

KOPBET

Duck of Death
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
Don't carry without knowing (and obeying) the law including knowing prohibited places (including Federal - e.g. post office property including parking lots). Don't become a felon by being stupid.

You do have to be a resident to get a handgun license (e.g. get an OK driver license) for sure. Not sure about constitutional carry otherwise.

Read and re-read: https://osbi.ok.gov/sites/g/files/gmc476/f/2020_SDA_Law_Book.pdf

Aries

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
You really should read the entire Self Defense Act so you not only know IF you are qualified to carry, but where and when it is prohibited.

https://osbi.ok.gov/sites/g/files/gmc476/f/2020_SDA_Law_Book.pdf
I believe page 22, section A, paragraph 6 is what you're looking for, it says "this section shall not prohibit.... carrying.... by a person who is 21 years of age or older...."