Out of State License Purchasing Laws

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

FckCA

New to the site!
Reaction score
I'm a college student from CA living/working in Tulsa for the summer. I've been going to an indoor range 1-3x a week after work and on weekends. I wasn't sure of the laws out here or where I'd be staying, so I left my firearms at home. I've been renting pistols each time, and the rental fees and range ammo prices are starting to add up. I realized it might make sense to buy something so I don't have to keep paying to rent. I figured that anything I buy here may not be allowed to come back with me at the end of the summer (due to strict gun laws and stricter importing laws in California). I want to know if there is a legal way for me to buy a pistol for a few months (with a CA license) and possibly be able to sell it before I leave. Would any shop sell to me even with my out-of-state license? Would I run into trouble selling if I did buy a gun, say at a gun show? Also, would a FFL be able to ship a gun to CA if I wanted to keep it?

UPDATE: I went to buy a Remington rifle @ Gander Mtn (bolt action 4 round mag, .243 Win) which would seemingly not be a problem to buy. Nothing about this rifle is illegal in any state.

As it turns out, I can't buy any firearm at all without being a resident. Well, I technically can, but I can't walk out of a store with any kind of firearm. The only method I would be able to buy one is by shipping said firearm from an OK FFL to a CA FFL and paying all the fees and jumping through all the CA red tape, paperwork and other ********.

Last edited:

Frederick

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score