Roku device question

dlbleak

Sharpshooter
Staff Member
Special Hen Administrator Moderator Supporter
Joined
Mar 15, 2009
Messages
15,253
Reaction score
11,357
Location
edmond
I know google and roku are having an issue about licensing but I already had YouTube on three tv’s with roku’s. The one in the master bedroom has been showing ‘playback error’ while the other two tv’s work fine. I’ve tried resetting the roku but that didn’t do it. Anyone have this issue and what,if any is there something I can do?
 

okierider

Sharpshooter
Staff Member
Special Hen Moderator Moderator Supporter
Joined
Dec 26, 2016
Messages
6,434
Reaction score
7,765
Location
OKC
I know google and roku are having an issue about licensing but I already had YouTube on three tv’s with roku’s. The one in the master bedroom has been showing ‘playback error’ while the other two tv’s work fine. I’ve tried resetting the roku but that didn’t do it. Anyone have this issue and what,if any is there something I can do?
Have you tried going in settings and updating or do a factory reset?
 

xseler

These are not the firearms you're looking for.
Special Hen Supporter
Joined
Jun 18, 2018
Messages
3,995
Reaction score
6,498
Location
Moore, OK
I recently had to get a new Apple TV device. Some months ago, when on YouTube, there was a banner that stated that this device would no longer be able to play YouTube. Sure enough, one day it didn't work. Went to Apple, got their newest device, and everything works now. However, there seems to be lots more commercials than before......

Good luck!
 

dlbleak

Sharpshooter
Staff Member
Special Hen Administrator Moderator Supporter
Joined
Mar 15, 2009
Messages
15,253
Reaction score
11,357
Location
edmond
Just did a system reset,restart and update with no luck. The odd things is all other channels work on that tv. Two other tv’s are getting YT fine. Pretty sure it’s the device
 

Shadowrider

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Joined
Jan 28, 2008
Messages
19,458
Reaction score
5,337
Location
Tornado Alley
I ditched YTTV when they raised the rates and went to Sling TV. But I think there's a way to get to Youtube TV from within the regular youtube app which should still work on Roku. I know I still get dinged to restart my service on my new phone EVERY...SINGLE...TIME I click a YT link.
 

dlbleak

Sharpshooter
Staff Member
Special Hen Administrator Moderator Supporter
Joined
Mar 15, 2009
Messages
15,253
Reaction score
11,357
Location
edmond
I ditched YTTV when they raised the rates and went to Sling TV. But I think there's a way to get to Youtube TV from within the regular youtube app which should still work on Roku. I know I still get dinged to restart my service on my new phone EVERY...SINGLE...TIME I click a YT link.
Agreed, I’m probably going to ditch it anyway. But in the meantime, it’s my source for local channels/news. We are relatively new to cutting the cable. So, besides rabbit ears, what is the best way to stream local news?
 
Top Bottom