Smith & Wesson Stepping Up Production as Sales Soar 140 Percent

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

_CY_

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
Smith & Wesson Stepping Up Production as Sales Soar 140 Percent
https://freebeacon.com/latest-news/smith-wesson-stepping-up-production-as-sales-soar-140-percent/

Gun maker pledges 'max capacity' production that could lead to more jobs, shifts for workers

Smith & Wesson, one of only two publicly traded gun manufacturers in America, reported a 140 percent year-over-year jump in gun sales between the beginning of May and the end of July. The company moved 584,000 guns in that period, an unprecedented demand that caused inventories to fall.

Smith-Wesson-Guns-736x492.jpg

nemesis

Sharpshooter
Reaction score
Interesting how tumultuous times have helped Smith and Wesson. This isn't the first time they've done well.

I got a business degree with an accounting major from Northeastern State in 2012. A class project was to analyse the financials of a major US corporation. I chose Smith and Wesson.

I analyzed their balance sheets from 2006 through 2010. A good barometer of a corporation's liquidity is Cash and Cash Equivalents. In 2006, S&W C&CE totaled $731,000. That’s not good for a corporation the size of S&W.

Heading into the election in 2007, (the panic was already starting) their C&CE jumped to $4,065,000. In 2008 it increased to $4,359,000.

Get this, in 2009, C&CE skyrocketed to $39,822,000. That's a monster increase. That figure remained roughly the same for 2010.

Smith and Wesson executives actually admitted that the improvement in their financial position was 100% attributable to Obama.
(S&W 10K report of 2011, page 20, item 1A filed on 6/30/2011).

[Begin quote]