Someone teach me how to waterfowl hunt?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HoLeChit

Here for Frens
Special Hen
Reaction score
If you’re wanting company when looking to go out shooting some ducks or geese, I would love to tag along and learn. I have a good 20 years of firearms handling experience (I won’t shoot you, your dog, or your truck) and 3 years self taught hunting experience, I just don’t know what I’m doing with waterfowl. Can cook a hot lunch or dinner and provide ammo for the day. I also have a 7 month old Drahthaar that loves retrieving ducks that can come along if you don’t have a dog. Located in OKC, can travel.

E3ADA741-A729-468A-9C66-DED6D0234461.jpeg

Last edited:

diggler1833

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
You and I are in the same boat my friend. I have since taught myself how to pond jump them. The concept is quite easy...getting it down to where you're at a >75% success rate takes a bit of practice. Maybe it isn't conducive to your hunting areas, but my stock ponds all have trees around at least part of them.

Play it like a spot and stalk, and when you burst out of the brush it is essentially a live round of trap shooting. I do use a small pair of binos to see what it is that ill be jumping though before hand.

Hopefully someone who has more experience and is better equipped than I can actually help you out some soon. Mostly I'm just blowing hot air I suppose, but it does work for me.

Best of luck.

GnometownHero

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
Sooner Lake is close to Stillwater. I went duck hunting with my friend from Tulsa there. We did a walk in with a decoy cart last year. Sad about his yellow lab just died recently. Rocky was a great retriever.