Talk to your kids and give them a huge hug

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

killerpigeon

Native off the Reservation
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I work as a paramedic on an ambulance incase some of you guys didn't know. I can't go into details, but I ran a bad call last night, still is bothering me with many questions, the main one being "Why?" Had a girl, almost a teenager, choose the permanent solution, to a temporary problem. Her parents found her, called 911 and we arrived. We did CPR, started multiple IV's, and intubated her. After a few minutes, we did get a pulse back, but who know how much damage to the brain has been done. In my experience, these don't turn out well, and the feelings of hope quickly fade for everyone involved. Last I checked, she was still alive, but hasn't made any purposeful movement or any signs of improving brain function. One of the hardest parts is always the family, especially the parents. I've always seen three main emotions, anguish, hope, and guilt. I don't have children, just cats. If I did though, I'd wake them up in the middle of the night, give them a big hug and tell them how much I love them and how important and special they are.
taylorhanson1-2x.jpg

Sent from my SM-G981V using Tapatalk

tRidiot

Perpetually dissatisfied
Special Hen
Reaction score
Man I know what you mean... I've been through this scenario more times than I can remember, and it sucks. I always do the same as you, and I hope folks read this and take it to heart. I'll try to do the same...

My son is a hugger, he wants to hug on me and wants me to reassure him all the time - I'm not a hugger and I'm not a person who expresses emotion comfortably - I need to do better about that, especially with my teenage son and my wife. <sigh>