Testing Hunting Load for the .308

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thaHooligan

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
On Saturday I drove to Duncan and went by Murf's Guns to see if they had any hunting bullets for the .308, but no luck, only match bullets. So then I went by Ausley's in Lawton, but of course no luck there either. Then I went by Academy and got lucky finding one box of 150gr Interlock Spire Points. All I usually find at Academy is match bullets. I was really wanting something in 165 or 168 grain, but I figured I would give these a shot. They actually did pretty good to my surprise. I've tried several loads with 150 gr SST's and haven't been able to get anything under about a 1.5" group. Also I'm still fairly new to reloading, so anything under 1" is good to me lol. After reading some of the other posts in this section I realize just how much I still have to learn about reloading, which is A LOT! But reading through all the ideas and knowledge some of you guys have, has helped me out quite a bit!

Cat City Slim

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I’ve found ssts to be accurate bullets. I prefer 150s for deer. I am using Speer deep curls this year, as I couldn’t get ballistic tips or ssts. The deep curls shoot well, I hope to be able to take a deer with one this season to see how they perform on game.

Louro

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
One thing I will recommend make sure you only change one thing at the time. When you have the powder weight that give you a good speed and ES or SD. Then start messing with the seating depth. Sometime a different powder does wonder too.

thaHooligan

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
You could try changing the oal of your rounds. Some rifles are very sensitive to bullet seating depth.