VA hearing aids.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dennishoddy

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
My guess is, the VA isn't providing top of the line equipment either

Actually the VA issues top of the line HA’s.
Depending on the audiologist who may think they are helping the government bottom line through personal convictions or have been directed by supervisors to issue bottom of the line HA’s with the same mindset, the VA will issue what you ask for if your persistent.
I’ve been using VA hearing aids for many years to service related hearing loss.
I insist on the best top of the line Starkey aids when it’s time for renewal with little pushback.
The OKC VA recommended one brand that is good because they are a repair center with trained techs to service them onsite.
I needed more and have continued research about the features offered by different brands until settling on the brand/model I want when it’s time to renew.
They are very hi-tech allowing the user many functions to choose from but you have to be tech minded to take advantage of the options.
Settings for crowds that shut down ambient noise to focus on voices, Outdoor settings to help mitigate wind noise, indoor crowd settings for when your in a bar or dining where it’s loud, you can shut off the rear microphone leaving the forward microphone facing the person sitting across the table from you while not picking up the conversation behind you which is a major issue of hearing aids.
Anyone eligible for VA hearing aids needs to take advantage of them.

dennishoddy

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
My 91yr old grandfather got a set of hearing aids through the VA last fall. It took a long time due to delays because of Covid, but it was worth the many months of waiting for him to get them. Now if we can get him to use them.