Windshield wiper motor

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JT708

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
My wife has a 99 Lincoln town car. I've put 11 wiper motors on in the last 3 yrs! 6 new or
remanufactured 5 from salvage yards the used original equipment seems to last the longest.
3 new multi switches, turn signal, wiper control. I've talked to a mechanic at ford, Lincoln
dealer and other shop mechanics around the area. Some say voltage problem some say they've never heard of such a problem. All the motors work great when first put in then after awhile they start sounding like they have gravel in them and then will only work on high and then finally they just quit working at all. Any ideas?
Thanks for any help or thoughts.

Perplexed

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
Just a WAG since I am no mechanic in any sense, but I’d be looking for something causing mechanical resistance in the assembly. I would wonder if something along those lines wasn’t making the motor work harder than it needs to before the latter gives up.

In the meantime, you could do this...

POKE1911

Sharpshooter
Reaction score
Have you tried the wiper arms themselves? I’m no mechanic either but it seems with this type of motor it’s either an input or output problem. Since it works fine at the beginning and slowly gets worse, it would lead me away from thinking it’s an input problem. So if it’s output, is there something about the connection, arms, brackets, etc that would cause undue strain, resistance, or gear slippage.

My advice, get your wife a newer car. :) Hitting that 20 year mark, I’m sure it’s still running like a tank but this is the time all these little widgets start going out and causing headaches and money/time pits. A lot of the parts you can live without, ie: do you really need to roll down the back passenger widow? Others like this are pretty imparitive.

swampratt

Sharpshooter