$350.00 hats banned by school district.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tanis143

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
Gawd, can these "educated educators" get any dumber? Don't look for them! If the kid lost it, that's on them. Its not the schools responsibility to keep track of the kids possessions. While I agree buying a middle schooler a $350 hat, if the parents have the money to burn thats on them. But for the school to go so far as asking kids to not wear them, thats also a bit out of line.

Honey Badger

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
All I know is that classically the wearing of hats in the hallway, and in the classroom is discouraged. My honest opinion is that it is very tasteful to wear a hat in the building anyway. I am a school teacher and Ex Navy. In the military we had three steps to remove our cover unless we on watch, or performing some service. I have never seen a need to wear a hat inside.

I’ll tell you that I wouldn’t spend 10 seconds helping a kid find one.

D. Hargrove

Sharpshooter
Reaction score
DAUGHTER: Dad, would you pleeeease buy me this hat?
DAD: Anything you think you need sweetheart...
MOM: Tim, that silly hat costs $350.00!!
DAUGHTER: You guys just don't get it, EVERY kid in school has one, if I don't have one they will make fun me.
DAD: I will buy you that hat today, if and only if you promise to work the South Section and get it turned by friday.
DAUGHTER: GREAT!! I love you guys!!!!!
Friday night at the supper table:
DAD: Section looks great you did a wonderful job.
DAUGHTER: Thanks, are you going to pay me the usual $200.00 per section this year?
DAD: Yeppers, and you can finish the east Section next week.
Later in the week:
DAUGHTER: Hey Dad, I finished the east Section already, would it be alright if I collect my pay now? Sally and our friends want to go to the mall.
DAD: Sure dear, hands her a $50.00 bill.