Man Charged With Being Fake Army Ranger

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

R. Johnson

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
MLRyan said:
Having actually read the article now, I have a question. Did no one question his credentials? Think about it. 20 year old Army Ranger with 4 tours? If you joined the day you turned 18 you still wouldn't be done with Ranger training by the time you're 20. At a minimum right now, Army tours are what? 6 months. At max 12+ months. So in about 2 years he A.) completed basic training B.) completed Ranger training C.) completed a minimum of 2 years in theater. That's why I always ask how old someone is when I hear them say "I'm a pilot" at the bar.

Ranger school really isn't all that long. And with the (unfortunate) high school to flight school program a person could easily be flying Army helicopters by their 19th birthday.

Bierhunter

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
The guy's obviously a loser.

But maybe he meant to say "Internet Ranger?"

aimg.photobucket.com_albums_v235_bierh_FromtheInternet.jpg

WTJ

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Having actually read the article now, I have a question. Did no one question his credentials? Think about it. 20 year old Army Ranger with 4 tours? If you joined the day you turned 18 you still wouldn't be done with Ranger training by the time you're 20. At a minimum right now, Army tours are what? 6 months. At max 12+ months. So in about 2 years he A.) completed basic training B.) completed Ranger training C.) completed a minimum of 2 years in theater. That's why I always ask how old someone is when I hear them say "I'm a pilot" at the bar.

Why on earth would anyone want to claim they were a pilot?

AKguy1985

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score